This event has now passed.
Check out other events below that are coming up for this artist and at this venue.

Café Scientifique - Science In The Tropics Rocks! - Why I became a Scientist

Venue: Tanks Arts Centre

7:00pm Thursday 17th August 2017

Email this event to a friend

Café Scientifique - Science In The Tropics Rocks! - Why I became a Scientist

Thu 17 Aug

Art meets science in an evening of collaboration and remarkable stories hosted by a world leader in tropical agenda research, James Cook University.

FACT: 50% of the global population and 80% of the world’s biodiversity occur in the Tropics. Consequently, tropical communities face some of the most important global challenges of the 21st century.

Featuring a multidisciplinary collaboration between scientists and artists, the audience will hear awe-inspiring and exciting stories from scientists, such as harnessing venom to develop therapeutics for cancer treatment and using drones to remotely monitor environments.

Take advantage of the opportunity to interact directly with the researchers in the interactive “Come and Try” space.

COST: FREE
DOORS / BAR: 6.00PM
SHOW STARTS: 7.00PM
MUSIC: John Buttigieg
VENUE: TANK 5 – seated / standing
INFO: www.facebook.com/NationalScienceWeekCairns

Other upcoming events for this venue 'Tanks Arts Centre'
Fri, 25th Aug 2017
Baby et Lulu
8:15PM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 31st Aug 2017
Diary of a Wombat
Monkey Baa Theatre for Young
6:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 1st Sep 2017
Diary of a Wombat
Monkey Baa Theatre for Young
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 1st Sep 2017
Energy Exhibition
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 1st Sep 2017
Diary of a Wombat
Monkey Baa Theatre for Young
1:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 1st Sep 2017
Energy - Exhibition and Opening Party
Presented by: Cairns Festival
6:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 3rd Sep 2017
Carnival On Collins 2017
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 3rd Sep 2017
Nikki Facepainting at Carnival on Collins
Nikki The Clown (Children / Family Entertainment Children's Entertainer)
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 8th Sep 2017
Energy Exhibition
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 8th Sep 2017
Pete Murray Camacho Tour
Pete Murray
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 9th Sep 2017
Butterfingers - Big Night Out Tour
Butterfingers
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 12th Sep 2017
We're Going On a Bear Hunt
Various
6:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 13th Sep 2017
We're Going On a Bear Hunt
Various
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 13th Sep 2017
We're Going On a Bear Hunt
Various
1:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 15th Sep 2017
Energy Exhibition
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 15th Sep 2017
The Australian Chamber Orchestra presents Mozart and Brahms
The Australian Chamber Orchestra
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 15th Sep 2017
An Evening with Tex, Don and Charlie
Tex Perkins, Don Walker and Charlie Owen
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 22nd Sep 2017
Energy Exhibition
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 22nd Sep 2017
Ajak Kwai (Sudan)
6:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 24th Sep 2017
Tanks songwriter stage
Legends of Perhaps (Originals / Covers / Indie Band)
12:15PM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 28th Sep 2017
Sydney Comedy Festival 2017
Sydney Comedy Festival Showcase
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 29th Sep 2017
Ngaiire
Ngaiire
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 6th Oct 2017
The Ollie McGill Trio
6:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 14th Oct 2017
Meg Mac - Low Blows Tour
Meg Mac
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 15th Oct 2017
Peter Helliar & Tom Gleeson LIVE
Peter Helliar & Tom Gleeson LIVE
6:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 29th Oct 2017
Originals at the TANKS (one short set 11:30 to 12:10... so don't be late!)
Chris Holliday (Acoustic / Covers / Originals Solo)
11:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 3rd Nov 2017
Kasey Chambers Dragonfly Tour
Kasey Chambers
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 26th Nov 2017
Tanks Songwriters Stage
Shirley Lynn Music (Variety Musical Entertainment)
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 2nd Dec 2017
Josh Pyke 10 Years of Memories and Dust Regional Tour 2017
Josh Pyke
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 28th Jan 2018
Lucky Phil & Co
Lucky Phil (Acoustic / Blues / Country Solo,Duo or Trio.)
11:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Café Scientifique - Science In The Tropics Rocks! - Why I became a Scientist
Map to this venue

View Larger Map

 

Venue Information
Address: 46 Collins Ave,
Edge Hill, QLD, 4870
More info on Tanks Arts Centre
Join the discussion