This event has now passed.
Check out other events below that are coming up for this artist and at this venue.

Cloudland

Venue: Cairns Civic Theatre - under reconstruction

Artist: The Queensland Ballet

1:30pm Saturday 7th July 2012

Buy tickets now    Email this event to a friend

Cloudland

The lights dim, the music swells, and wrapped in the magical embrace of Cloudland, the dance begins.


An iconic Brisbane building for decades, the Cloudland ballroom was the focus of the city's social life. Countless romances blossomed under its spinning mirror balls. Romantic, nostalgic, and humorous, Cloudland is based on real-life stories of romance, friendship and war-time relationships. With music performed live on stage by Sean O'Boyle and his fabulous band, Blackwood, the production gives an energetic and dynamic portrayal of life, love and dance in Brisbane from the 1940s to the 1980s.



Choreographed by Francois Klaus, this wonderfully entertaining ballet was a sell-out hit at the 2004 Brisbane Festival, and has since charmed audiences on a critically acclaimed tour to six cities across Germany and Switzerland.



Let the spirited dancers of Queensland Ballet whisk you back in time to Cloudland!

Other upcoming events available at TicketLINK
Fri, 28th Apr 2017
The Melbourne International Comedy Festival Roadshow 2017
7:30PM
Fri, 28th Apr 2017
One for the Road
8:00PM
Sat, 29th Apr 2017
One for the Road
8:00PM
Wed, 3rd May 2017
Camerata Greatest String Hits
7:30PM
Fri, 5th May 2017
Tanks Unplugged May 2017
7:30PM
Sat, 6th May 2017
Queensland Theatre's Constellations
2:00PM
Sat, 6th May 2017
Queensland Theatre's Constellations
7:30PM
Fri, 12th May 2017
The Idea of North
6:30PM
Fri, 19th May 2017
Wind In The Willows
7:00PM
Sat, 20th May 2017
Wind In The Willows
7:00PM
Sun, 21st May 2017
Children's Festival : Diamonds Found in Dreams
9:30AM
Sun, 21st May 2017
Children's Festival : Frank Woodley, Noodlenut - A show for kids
9:30AM
Sun, 21st May 2017
Children's Festival : Frank Woodley, Noodlenut - A show for kids
11:30AM
Sun, 21st May 2017
Children's Festival : Diamonds Found in Dreams
11:30AM
Sun, 21st May 2017
Children's Festival : Diamonds Found in Dreams
1:30PM
Sun, 21st May 2017
Children's Festival : Frank Woodley, Noodlenut - A show for kids
2:00PM
Sun, 21st May 2017
Classical Sunset Series
4:00PM
Mon, 22nd May 2017
Morning Melodies - A Fine Romance: The Magic of Fred Astaire
10:00AM
Mon, 22nd May 2017
Morning Melodies - A Fine Romance: The Magic of Fred Astaire
1:30PM
Fri, 26th May 2017
Strassman's "iTedE"
7:00PM
Sat, 27th May 2017
Sydney's Writers' Festival 2017
3:00PM
Sat, 27th May 2017
Strassman's "iTedE"
7:00PM
Wed, 31st May 2017
Mr Stink
10:00AM
Wed, 31st May 2017
Mr Stink
1:00PM
Wed, 31st May 2017
Mr Stink
6:00PM
Wed, 31st May 2017
Tanks Round Cinema - Gimme Danger
7:30PM
Fri, 2nd Jun 2017
Regional Indigenous Fashion and Textile Showcase 2017
6:00PM
Fri, 2nd Jun 2017
Emie R Roussel Trio
6:30PM
Sat, 3rd Jun 2017
Lift and Seperate
7:30PM
Thu, 22nd Jun 2017
Cirque Africa
7:30PM
Fri, 23rd Jun 2017
Cirque Africa
7:30PM
Fri, 23rd Jun 2017
Sarah Blasko - Solo Tour
7:30PM
Sat, 24th Jun 2017
Wiggle Around Australia 2017
10:00AM
Sat, 24th Jun 2017
Cirque Africa
4:00PM
Sat, 24th Jun 2017
Cirque Africa
7:30PM
Sun, 25th Jun 2017
Cirque Africa
7:30PM
Mon, 26th Jun 2017
Cirque Africa
4:00PM
Tue, 27th Jun 2017
Cirque Africa
4:00PM
Tue, 27th Jun 2017
Cirque Africa
7:30PM
Wed, 28th Jun 2017
Cirque Africa
4:00PM
Wed, 28th Jun 2017
Tank Round Cinema - Zach's Ceremony
7:30PM
Wed, 28th Jun 2017
Cirque Africa
7:30PM
Thu, 29th Jun 2017
Cirque Africa
4:00PM
Thu, 29th Jun 2017
Cirque Africa
7:30PM
Fri, 30th Jun 2017
Cirque Africa
4:00PM
Fri, 30th Jun 2017
Cirque Africa
7:30PM
Fri, 30th Jun 2017
Doug Anthony Allstars : Near Death Experience
8:00PM
Sat, 1st Jul 2017
Cirque Africa
4:00PM
Sat, 1st Jul 2017
Cirque Africa
7:30PM
Thu, 6th Jul 2017
ROCKWIZ LIVE! TWENTYSEVENTEEN
8:00PM
Thu, 13th Jul 2017
Cairns Indigenous Art Fair Opening Night 2017
6:30PM
Fri, 14th Jul 2017
Wandan (Future) CIAF Fashion Perforance 2017
3:00PM
Fri, 14th Jul 2017
Wandan (Future) CIAF Fashion Performance 2017
6:00PM
Fri, 14th Jul 2017
Wandan (Future) CIAF Fashion Performance 2017
8:30PM
Fri, 21st Jul 2017
DRACULA
8:00PM
Sat, 22nd Jul 2017
DRACULA
8:00PM
Mon, 24th Jul 2017
Morning Melodies - Little Pattie
10:00AM
Mon, 24th Jul 2017
Morning Melodies - Little Pattie
1:30PM
Sat, 29th Jul 2017
The Marriage of Figaro
7:00PM
Fri, 25th Aug 2017
Baby et Lulu
8:15PM
Sat, 26th Aug 2017
The Music of Pink Floyd 25 Years Anniversary
8:00PM
Thu, 31st Aug 2017
Diary of a Wombat
6:00PM
Fri, 1st Sep 2017
Diary of a Wombat
10:00AM
Fri, 1st Sep 2017
Diary of a Wombat
1:00PM
Fri, 1st Sep 2017
Lord of the Flies
7:30PM
Sat, 2nd Sep 2017
Lord of the Flies
7:30PM
Fri, 8th Sep 2017
Pete Murray Camacho Tour
7:30PM
Mon, 11th Sep 2017
Morning Melodies - Belladiva
10:00AM
Mon, 11th Sep 2017
Morning Melodies - Belladiva
1:30PM
Tue, 12th Sep 2017
We're Going On a Bear Hunt
6:00PM
Wed, 13th Sep 2017
We're Going On a Bear Hunt
10:00AM
Wed, 13th Sep 2017
We're Going On a Bear Hunt
1:00PM
Fri, 22nd Sep 2017
Ajak Kwai (Sudan)
6:30PM
Fri, 6th Oct 2017
The Ollie McGill Trio
6:30PM
Mon, 13th Nov 2017
Morning Melodies - Vov Dylan, The Violinist
10:00AM
Mon, 13th Nov 2017
Morning Melodies - Vov Dylan, The Violinist
1:30PM
Fri, 8th Dec 2017
Robin Hood & His Merry Men: The Musical
7:00PM
Sat, 9th Dec 2017
Robin Hood & His Merry Men: The Musical
7:00PM
Cloudland
Map to this venue

View Larger Map

 

Venue Information
Address: Cnr Sheridan & Florence Streets,
Cairns, QLD, 4870
More info on Cairns Civic Theatre - under reconstruction
View Promoters Profile
ticketLiNK
Buy tickets online
Buy tickets now
Join the discussion