This event has now passed.
Check out other events below that are coming up for this artist and at this venue.

Cloudland

Venue: Cairns Civic Theatre - under reconstruction

Artist: The Queensland Ballet

1:30pm Saturday 7th July 2012

Buy tickets now    Email this event to a friend

Cloudland

The lights dim, the music swells, and wrapped in the magical embrace of Cloudland, the dance begins.


An iconic Brisbane building for decades, the Cloudland ballroom was the focus of the city's social life. Countless romances blossomed under its spinning mirror balls. Romantic, nostalgic, and humorous, Cloudland is based on real-life stories of romance, friendship and war-time relationships. With music performed live on stage by Sean O'Boyle and his fabulous band, Blackwood, the production gives an energetic and dynamic portrayal of life, love and dance in Brisbane from the 1940s to the 1980s.



Choreographed by Francois Klaus, this wonderfully entertaining ballet was a sell-out hit at the 2004 Brisbane Festival, and has since charmed audiences on a critically acclaimed tour to six cities across Germany and Switzerland.



Let the spirited dancers of Queensland Ballet whisk you back in time to Cloudland!

Other upcoming events available at TicketLINK
Tue, 28th Feb 2017
Don't Dress For Dinner
8:00PM
Wed, 1st Mar 2017
Don't Dress For Dinner
8:00PM
Thu, 2nd Mar 2017
Suzie Quatro - Leather Forever
8:00PM
Thu, 2nd Mar 2017
Don't Dress For Dinner
8:00PM
Fri, 3rd Mar 2017
The Girl Who Cried Wolf
7:00PM
Fri, 3rd Mar 2017
Hot 8 Brass Band
7:30PM
Fri, 3rd Mar 2017
Don't Dress For Dinner
8:00PM
Sat, 4th Mar 2017
Hannah Gadsby - Nanette
7:00PM
Sat, 4th Mar 2017
The Girl Who Cried Wolf
7:00PM
Sat, 4th Mar 2017
Don't Dress For Dinner
8:00PM
Sun, 5th Mar 2017
All About Women Satellite
9:00AM
Fri, 10th Mar 2017
In Conversation with Gill Hicks
7:00PM
Sat, 11th Mar 2017
An Evening with Amanda Palmer
7:30PM
Wed, 15th Mar 2017
Jimmy Barnes "Working Class Boy" Tour: An Evening of Stories and Songs
7:30PM
Thu, 16th Mar 2017
Jimmy Barnes "Working Class Boy" Tour: An Evening of Stories and Songs
7:30PM
Fri, 17th Mar 2017
Mercan Dede (Turkish)
6:30PM
Fri, 17th Mar 2017
Celtic Illusion
8:00PM
Wed, 22nd Mar 2017
The Living End "Staring down the Highway" Tour
7:30PM
Thu, 23rd Mar 2017
The Living End "Staring down the Highway Tour"
7:30PM
Fri, 24th Mar 2017
UnTAPped by Raw Dance
7:30PM
Sat, 25th Mar 2017
UnTAPped by Raw Dance
2:00PM
Sat, 25th Mar 2017
Feast of Europe Dinner/Concert
6:30PM
Sat, 25th Mar 2017
UnTAPped by Raw Dance
7:30PM
Mon, 27th Mar 2017
Morning Melodies - Great Composers of London's West End
10:00AM
Mon, 27th Mar 2017
Morning Melodies - Great Composers of London's West End
1:30PM
Wed, 29th Mar 2017
Tanks Round Cinema - Janis:Little Girl Blue
7:30PM
Fri, 31st Mar 2017
The East Pointers (Irish)
6:30PM
Sat, 1st Apr 2017
Spiderbait "Ivy and the Big Apples Tour"
7:30PM
Fri, 7th Apr 2017
Vince Jones
6:30PM
Sun, 9th Apr 2017
An Evening With The Waifs, The 25th Anniversary Tour
4:00PM
Thu, 13th Apr 2017
Rickie Lee Jones
8:30PM
Fri, 21st Apr 2017
Sabor Y Control (Peru)
6:30PM
Wed, 26th Apr 2017
The Melbourne International Comedy Festival Roadshow 2017
7:30PM
Thu, 27th Apr 2017
The Melbourne International Comedy Festival Roadshow 2017
7:30PM
Fri, 28th Apr 2017
The Melbourne International Comedy Festival Roadshow 2017
7:30PM
Sat, 6th May 2017
Queensland Theatre's Constellations
2:00PM
Sat, 6th May 2017
Queensland Theatre's Constellations
7:30PM
Fri, 12th May 2017
The Idea of North
6:30PM
Fri, 19th May 2017
Wind In The Willows
7:00PM
Sat, 20th May 2017
Wind In The Willows
7:00PM
Sun, 21st May 2017
Children's Festival : Diamonds Found in Dreams
9:30AM
Sun, 21st May 2017
Children's Festival : Frank Woodley, Noodlenut - A show for kids
9:30AM
Sun, 21st May 2017
Children's Festival : Frank Woodley, Noodlenut - A show for kids
11:30AM
Sun, 21st May 2017
Children's Festival : Diamonds Found in Dreams
11:30AM
Sun, 21st May 2017
Children's Festival : Diamonds Found in Dreams
1:30PM
Sun, 21st May 2017
Children's Festival : Frank Woodley, Noodlenut - A show for kids
2:00PM
Mon, 22nd May 2017
Morning Melodies - A Fine Romance: The Magic of Fred Astaire
10:00AM
Mon, 22nd May 2017
Morning Melodies - A Fine Romance: The Magic of Fred Astaire
1:30PM
Fri, 26th May 2017
Strassman's "iTedE"
7:00PM
Sat, 27th May 2017
Strassman's "iTedE"
7:00PM
Wed, 31st May 2017
Mr Stink
10:00AM
Wed, 31st May 2017
Mr Stink
1:00PM
Wed, 31st May 2017
Mr Stink
6:00PM
Fri, 2nd Jun 2017
Emie R Roussel Trio
6:30PM
Mon, 24th Jul 2017
Morning Melodies - Little Pattie
10:00AM
Mon, 24th Jul 2017
Morning Melodies - Little Pattie
1:30PM
Fri, 25th Aug 2017
Baby et Lulu
8:15PM
Thu, 31st Aug 2017
Diary of a Wombat
6:00PM
Fri, 1st Sep 2017
Diary of a Wombat
10:00AM
Fri, 1st Sep 2017
Diary of a Wombat
1:00PM
Fri, 1st Sep 2017
Lord of the Flies
7:30PM
Sat, 2nd Sep 2017
Lord of the Flies
7:30PM
Mon, 11th Sep 2017
Morning Melodies - Belladiva
10:00AM
Mon, 11th Sep 2017
Morning Melodies - Belladiva
1:30PM
Tue, 12th Sep 2017
We're Going On a Bear Hunt
6:00PM
Wed, 13th Sep 2017
We're Going On a Bear Hunt
10:00AM
Wed, 13th Sep 2017
We're Going On a Bear Hunt
1:00PM
Fri, 22nd Sep 2017
Ajak Kwai (Sudan)
6:30PM
Fri, 6th Oct 2017
The Ollie McGill Trio
6:30PM
Mon, 13th Nov 2017
Morning Melodies - Vov Dylan, The Violinist
10:00AM
Mon, 13th Nov 2017
Morning Melodies - Vov Dylan, The Violinist
1:30PM
Fri, 8th Dec 2017
Robin Hood & His Merry Men: The Musical
7:00PM
Sat, 9th Dec 2017
Robin Hood & His Merry Men: The Musical
7:00PM
   
Cloudland
Map to this venue

View Larger Map

 

Venue Information
Address: Cnr Sheridan & Florence Streets,
Cairns, QLD, 4870
More info on Cairns Civic Theatre - under reconstruction
View Promoters Profile
ticketLiNK
Buy tickets online
Buy tickets now
Join the discussion