This event has now passed.
Check out other events below that are coming up for this artist and at this venue.

Cloudland

Venue: Cairns Civic Theatre

Artist: The Queensland Ballet

1:30pm Saturday 7th July 2012

Email this event to a friend     Buy tickets now

Cloudland

The lights dim, the music swells, and wrapped in the magical embrace of Cloudland, the dance begins.


An iconic Brisbane building for decades, the Cloudland ballroom was the focus of the city's social life. Countless romances blossomed under its spinning mirror balls. Romantic, nostalgic, and humorous, Cloudland is based on real-life stories of romance, friendship and war-time relationships. With music performed live on stage by Sean O'Boyle and his fabulous band, Blackwood, the production gives an energetic and dynamic portrayal of life, love and dance in Brisbane from the 1940s to the 1980s.



Choreographed by Francois Klaus, this wonderfully entertaining ballet was a sell-out hit at the 2004 Brisbane Festival, and has since charmed audiences on a critically acclaimed tour to six cities across Germany and Switzerland.



Let the spirited dancers of Queensland Ballet whisk you back in time to Cloudland!

Other upcoming events for this venue 'Cairns Civic Theatre'
Fri, 1st May 2015
Banff Mountain Film Festival
Adventure Reels
7:00PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Thu, 7th May 2015
Return to the Forbidden Planet
St Augustine's College
7:30PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Fri, 8th May 2015
Return to the Forbidden Planet
St Augustine's College
10:30AM Cairns Civic Theatre
Fri, 8th May 2015
Return to the Forbidden Planet
St Augustine's College
7:30PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Sat, 9th May 2015
Return to the Forbidden Planet
St Augustine's College
7:30PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Sat, 16th May 2015
The Glenn Miller Orchestra
ATA Allstars Artists Pty Ltd
7:30PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Thu, 21st May 2015
Nice Work If You Can Get It
Cairns State High School
7:30PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Fri, 22nd May 2015
Nice Work If You Can Get It
Cairns State High School
7:30PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Sat, 23rd May 2015
Nice Work If You Can Get It
Cairns State High School
7:30PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Wed, 27th May 2015
Popstars - The 90's Musical
Trinity Bay State High School
7:00PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Thu, 28th May 2015
Popstars - The 90's Musical
Trinity Bay State High School
7:00PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Fri, 29th May 2015
Popstars - The 90's Musical
Trinity Bay State High School
7:00PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Thu, 11th Jun 2015
GOLD - The Ultimate ABBA Show
The Harbour Agency Pty Ltd
8:00PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Fri, 12th Jun 2015
Mary Wilson: Up Close
Mary Wilson of The Supremes
7:30PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Mon, 15th Jun 2015
John MacNally, Love & Roses
Morning Melodies Series 2015
11:00AM Cairns Civic Theatre
Wed, 17th Jun 2015
The 26-Storey Treehouse
CDP Theatre Producers Pty Ltd
12:00PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Wed, 17th Jun 2015
The 26-Storey Treehouse
CDP Theatre Producers Pty Ltd
6:00PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Thu, 18th Jun 2015
The 26-Storey Treehouse
CDP Theatre Producers Pty Ltd
9:30AM Cairns Civic Theatre
Thu, 18th Jun 2015
The 26-Storey Treehouse
CDP Theatre Producers Pty Ltd
11:30AM Cairns Civic Theatre
Sat, 20th Jun 2015
The Beatles 50 Years On
Ben Maiorana Entertainment
8:00PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Thu, 23rd Jul 2015
The Magic Flute
Opera Australia
7:30PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Fri, 7th Aug 2015
Fink About It
The Laughing Samoans
8:00PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Mon, 10th Aug 2015
Lucky Starr, Solid Gold Sixties
Morning Melodies Series 2015
11:00AM Cairns Civic Theatre
Thu, 20th Aug 2015
Cranky Bear
Patch Theatre Company
6:30PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Fri, 21st Aug 2015
Cranky Bear
Patch Theatre Company
9:30AM Cairns Civic Theatre
Fri, 21st Aug 2015
Cranky Bear
Patch Theatre Company
12:30PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Sun, 20th Sep 2015
Sydney Comedy Festival Showcase
Century Entertainment Australia Pty Ltd
7:30PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Sat, 26th Sep 2015
Swan Lake
Imperial Russian Ballet
8:00PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Sun, 27th Sep 2015
Swan Lake
Imperial Russian Ballet
2:00PM Cairns Civic Theatre
Mon, 12th Oct 2015
Keith Potger, From The Seekers to Nashville
Morning Melodies Series 2015
11:00AM Cairns Civic Theatre
Mon, 23rd Nov 2015
Debra Byrne, Australia's TV & Theatre Legend
Morning Melodies Series 2015
11:00AM Cairns Civic Theatre
   
Other upcoming events available at TicketLINK
Fri, 1st May 2015
Tony N' Tina's Wedding
6:30PM
Fri, 1st May 2015
Augie March
7:30PM
Sat, 2nd May 2015
Tony N' Tina's Wedding
6:30PM
Fri, 8th May 2015
Tony N' Tina's Wedding
6:30PM
Fri, 8th May 2015
Masters of Jazz
7:30PM
Sat, 9th May 2015
Tony N' Tina's Wedding
6:30PM
Sun, 10th May 2015
Cairns Children's Festival 2015
10:00AM
Sun, 10th May 2015
THE LISTIES in "The Listies Make You LOL" Show
10:00AM
Sun, 10th May 2015
THE LISTIES in "The Listies Make You LOL" Show
1:00PM
Fri, 15th May 2015
Tony N' Tina's Wedding
6:30PM
Sat, 16th May 2015
Tony N' Tina's Wedding
6:30PM
Sat, 16th May 2015
Anh Do - The Happiest Refugee Live!!
8:00PM
Fri, 22nd May 2015
Kingswood
6:30PM
Fri, 22nd May 2015
Tony N' Tina's Wedding
6:30PM
Sat, 23rd May 2015
Tony N' Tina's Wedding
6:30PM
Sat, 23rd May 2015
At Last, Etta James Story
7:30PM
Sun, 24th May 2015
A Classical Sunset
4:00PM
Fri, 29th May 2015
Tony N\' Tina\'s Wedding
6:30PM
Fri, 29th May 2015
The Audreys
7:30PM
Sat, 30th May 2015
Tony N\' Tina\'s Wedding
6:30PM
Fri, 5th Jun 2015
Monique Dimattina & James Sherlock
7:30PM
Fri, 12th Jun 2015
Kuranda Roots Festival 2015
5:00PM
Sat, 13th Jun 2015
Kuranda Roots Festival 2015
9:00AM
Mon, 22nd Jun 2015
Bushweek Festival 2015
8:00AM
Tue, 23rd Jun 2015
Bushweek Festival 2015
8:00AM
Wed, 24th Jun 2015
Bushweek Festival 2015
8:00AM
Thu, 25th Jun 2015
Bushweek Festival 2015
8:00AM
Fri, 26th Jun 2015
Bushweek Festival 2015
8:00AM
Sat, 27th Jun 2015
Bushweek Festival 2015
8:00AM
Sun, 28th Jun 2015
Bushweek Festival 2015
8:00AM
Sat, 4th Jul 2015
PBR 2015 Cairns Invitational
7:00PM
Fri, 17th Jul 2015
Roy Orbison & Everly Brothers Show
8:00PM
Fri, 24th Jul 2015
Doug Anthony Allstars
8:00PM
Sat, 8th Aug 2015
Dylan Moran - Off The Hook
8:00PM
Fri, 14th Aug 2015
Equus (Mongolian)
7:30PM
Fri, 28th Aug 2015
The Catholics
7:30PM
Fri, 4th Sep 2015
ZeroDB Festival 2015
10:00AM
Sat, 5th Sep 2015
ZeroDB Festival 2015
10:00AM
Sun, 6th Sep 2015
ZeroDB Festival 2015
10:00AM
Fri, 18th Sep 2015
Monica Trapaga
7:30PM
Fri, 23rd Oct 2015
Bandaluzia Flamenco
7:30PM
Fri, 30th Oct 2015
Iiro Rantala (Finland)
7:30PM
Fri, 13th Nov 2015
Palimpsest
7:30PM
   
Cloudland
Map to this venue

View Larger Map

 

Venue Information
Address: Cnr Sheridan & Florence Streets,
Cairns, Qld, 4870
More info on Cairns Civic Theatre
View Promoters Profile
ticketLiNK
Buy tickets online
Buy tickets now
Join the discussion