This event has now passed.
Check out other events below that are coming up for this artist and at this venue.

Cloudland

Venue: Cairns Civic Theatre

Artist: The Queensland Ballet

1:30pm Saturday 7th July 2012

Email this event to a friend     Buy tickets now

Cloudland

The lights dim, the music swells, and wrapped in the magical embrace of Cloudland, the dance begins.


An iconic Brisbane building for decades, the Cloudland ballroom was the focus of the city's social life. Countless romances blossomed under its spinning mirror balls. Romantic, nostalgic, and humorous, Cloudland is based on real-life stories of romance, friendship and war-time relationships. With music performed live on stage by Sean O'Boyle and his fabulous band, Blackwood, the production gives an energetic and dynamic portrayal of life, love and dance in Brisbane from the 1940s to the 1980s.



Choreographed by Francois Klaus, this wonderfully entertaining ballet was a sell-out hit at the 2004 Brisbane Festival, and has since charmed audiences on a critically acclaimed tour to six cities across Germany and Switzerland.



Let the spirited dancers of Queensland Ballet whisk you back in time to Cloudland!

Other upcoming events available at TicketLINK
Sat, 27th Aug 2016
Be-Tween Us
1:00PM
Mon, 29th Aug 2016
CIRCA Circus Classes/Tiny Tumblers
10:00AM
Mon, 29th Aug 2016
CIRCA Circus Classes/A Taste of Circus
4:00PM
Wed, 31st Aug 2016
Improv After Dark
7:00PM
Wed, 7th Sep 2016
Improv After Dark
7:00PM
Fri, 9th Sep 2016
Steve Clisby
7:30PM
Wed, 14th Sep 2016
Improv After Dark
7:00PM
Wed, 21st Sep 2016
Improv After Dark
7:00PM
Fri, 23rd Sep 2016
Frank Yamma
7:30PM
Wed, 28th Sep 2016
Improv After Dark
7:00PM
Mon, 10th Oct 2016
2016 Morning Melodies. I've Got The Music: Danny Elliott
10:00AM
Mon, 10th Oct 2016
2016 Morning Melodies. I've Got The Music: Danny Elliott
1:30PM
Sun, 16th Oct 2016
Sydney Comedy Festival Showcase
7:00PM
Fri, 21st Oct 2016
George Washingmachine presents Feel the Manouche
7:30PM
Thu, 3rd Nov 2016
Bernard Fanning "Civil Dusk" SOLD OUT
6:30PM
Fri, 4th Nov 2016
Bernard Fanning "Civil Dusk" SOLD OUT
6:30PM
Fri, 4th Nov 2016
Santa Taranta
7:30PM
Mon, 21st Nov 2016
2016 Morning Melodies. The Ultimate Tribute to Shirley Bassey
10:00AM
Mon, 21st Nov 2016
2016 Morning Melodies. The Ultimate Tribute to Shirley Bassey
1:30PM
Fri, 25th Nov 2016
"Limit of Love" Tour
7:30PM
Fri, 9th Dec 2016
Island of Secrets
7:00PM
Sat, 10th Dec 2016
Island of Secrets
7:00PM
Cloudland
Map to this venue

View Larger Map

 

Venue Information
Address: Cnr Sheridan & Florence Streets,
Cairns, QLD, 4870
More info on Cairns Civic Theatre
View Promoters Profile
ticketLiNK
Join the discussion