Elizabeth Hunter - Momento Mori: Art, Death and the Afterlife

Venue: Tanks Arts Centre

9:00am Friday 10th November 2017

Email this event to a friend

Elizabeth Hunter - Momento Mori: Art, Death and the Afterlife

Fri 27 Oct - Sun 12 Nov

LAUNCH: 6PM FRI 27 OCTOBER

Local printmaker and installation artist Elizabeth Hunter has been working for the last four years, making pieces for a special celebration of The Day of The Dead.

Memento Mori is Latin for Remember you must die; it is a fact of the human condition, the inescapable demise of all living things and encompasses all cultures and religions. Acknowledgment of Death is the catalyst for life, the motivator that gives life meaning.

Memento Mori: Art, Death and the Afterlife is an immersive installation, built specifically for Tank 3, creating an ethereal environment, embracing the profane and the sacred in a journey through the sensual stimulus of visual artwork, lighting, scent and sound, inspiring meditation and reflection on the temporariness of Life and our last rite of passage, Death.
This installation is only open at night, including Halloween (31 October) and Day of the Dead (2 November).

OPEN: 6.00PM – 9:00PM NIGHTLY
INFO:Elizabeth Hunter elizabeth2230@gmail.com

Cost: Free
Venue: Tank 3

Other upcoming events for this venue 'Tanks Arts Centre'
Fri, 20th Oct 2017
Tropical Gaze 2017 Art Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 21st Oct 2017
Havana Meets Kingston - Sound System
Mista Savona
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 24th Oct 2017
Emerging Structure - JCU Creative Arts Exhibition
8:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 25th Oct 2017
Tanks Round Cinema: Mountain
End Credits Film Club
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 27th Oct 2017
Tropical Gaze 2017 Art Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 27th Oct 2017
Elizabeth Hunter - Momento Mori: Art, Death and the Afterlife
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 29th Oct 2017
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 29th Oct 2017
Originals at the TANKS (one short set 11:30 to 12:10... so don't be late!)
Chris Holliday (Acoustic / Covers / Originals Solo)
11:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 31st Oct 2017
Emerging Structure - JCU Creative Arts Exhibition
8:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 3rd Nov 2017
Elizabeth Hunter - Momento Mori: Art, Death and the Afterlife
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 3rd Nov 2017
Kasey Chambers Dragonfly Tour
Kasey Chambers
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 4th Nov 2017
Jeff Lang Alone in Bad Company Tour
Jeff Lang
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 10th Nov 2017
Tkay Maidza
Tkay Maidza
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 17th Nov 2017
Tanks Unplugged November 2017
MACHINE MACHINE, The Taste and Megan McDowall
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 25th Nov 2017
Dancescapes The June Vale Dancers present Trick or Treat
Dancescapes The June Vale Dancers
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 26th Nov 2017
Tanks Songwriters Stage
Shirley Lynn Music (Variety Musical Entertainment)
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 29th Nov 2017
Tanks Round Cinema - The Go Betweens Right Here
Tanks Round Cinema
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 2nd Dec 2017
Josh Pyke 10 Years of Memories and Dust Regional Tour 2017
Josh Pyke
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Mon, 4th Dec 2017
Jeff Lang Alone in Bad Company Tour
Jeff Lang
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 28th Jan 2018
Lucky Phil & Co
Lucky Phil (Acoustic / Blues / Country Solo,Duo or Trio.)
11:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Elizabeth Hunter - Momento Mori: Art, Death and the Afterlife
Map to this venue

View Larger Map

 

Venue Information
Address: 46 Collins Ave,
Edge Hill, QLD, 4870
More info on Tanks Arts Centre
Join the discussion