This event has now passed.
Check out other events below that are coming up for this artist and at this venue.

Jing Jin - Zoomed In

Venue: Tanks Arts Centre

8:30am Tuesday 19th November 2019

Email this event to a friend

Jing Jin - Zoomed In

Tue 05 Nov - Sun 15 Dec

Have you ever looked into something you see every day, only to get lost in the details that grow eerier by the second?


Jing Jin is a China-born, US-raised painter, ceramic sculptor, and digital designer currently visiting Australia. Her work draws on the uncanny in everyday landscapes - the swirls and layers in hair, the different textures and surfaces of food items, and, in this case, the rich tapestry of lines and shades in botanical specimens around the Cairns Botanic Gardens.

Jing will create a series of drawings using pencil and charcoal, and an interactive piece that invites the public to contribute to a jigsaw-esque botanical drawing.

Visit the Cairns Botanic Gardens Visitor Centre to engage with this work and you may find other creations by Jing Jin around the Tanks.


Residency: Monday 14 October – Friday 15 November

Display: Tuesday 5 November – Sunday 15 December

Open: 8.30am – 4pm Weekdays, 8.30am – 1pm Weekends

Info: info@tanksartscentre.com.au or jingjinart@gmail.com

Cost: Free
Venue: Botanic Gardens Visitor Centre and around the Tanks

Other upcoming events for this venue 'Tanks Arts Centre'
Mon, 16th Dec 2019
Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 17th Dec 2019
Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 18th Dec 2019
Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 19th Dec 2019
Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 20th Dec 2019
Ten - Crate 59 Ten Year Anniversary
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 20th Dec 2019
Kerry Lowe - Oceanlife
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 20th Dec 2019
Trent Griffin - Colours of My World
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 21st Dec 2019
Elverina Johnson - Fisher Woman Dreaming
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 27th Dec 2019
Ten - Crate 59 Ten Year Anniversary
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 27th Dec 2019
Kerry Lowe - Oceanlife
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 27th Dec 2019
Trent Griffin - Colours of My World
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 28th Dec 2019
Elverina Johnson - Fisher Woman Dreaming
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 3rd Jan 2020
Ten - Crate 59 Ten Year Anniversary
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 3rd Jan 2020
Kerry Lowe - Oceanlife
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 3rd Jan 2020
Trent Griffin - Colours of My World
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 4th Jan 2020
Elverina Johnson - Fisher Woman Dreaming
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 10th Jan 2020
Ten - Crate 59 Ten Year Anniversary
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 10th Jan 2020
Kerry Lowe - Oceanlife
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 10th Jan 2020
Trent Griffin - Colours of My World
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 11th Jan 2020
Elverina Johnson - Fisher Woman Dreaming
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 17th Jan 2020
Ten - Crate 59 Ten Year Anniversary
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 17th Jan 2020
Kerry Lowe - Oceanlife
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 17th Jan 2020
Trent Griffin - Colours of My World
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 18th Jan 2020
Elverina Johnson - Fisher Woman Dreaming
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Mon, 20th Jan 2020
Cairns Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 21st Jan 2020
Cairns Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 22nd Jan 2020
Cairns Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 23rd Jan 2020
Cairns Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 8th Feb 2020
THE BEAUTIFUL GIRLS: SEASIDE HIGHLIFE - GREATEST HITS TOUR
THE BEAUTIFUL GIRLS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 15th Feb 2020
TRUE VIBENATION
TRUE VIBENATION
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 28th Feb 2020
C.W. STONEKING
C.W. STONEKING
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 13th Mar 2020
BOBBY ALU
BOBBY ALU
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 20th Mar 2020
THE BLACK SORROWS
THE BLACK SORROWS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 21st Mar 2020
THE EAST POINTERS - WORLD MUSIC
THE EAST POINTERS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 27th Mar 2020
BOY & BEAR 'SUCK ON LIGHT TOUR' WITH SPECIAL GUESTS
BOY & BEAR
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 23rd Apr 2020
IAN MOSS SOLO AND ACOUSTIC - MATCHBOOK 30TH ANNIVERSARY TOUR
IAN MOSS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 24th Apr 2020
IAN MOSS SOLO AND ACOUSTIC - MATCHBOOK 30TH ANNIVERSARY TOUR
IAN MOSS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
   
Jing Jin - Zoomed In
Map to Tanks Arts Centre

 

Venue Information
Address: 46 Collins Ave,
Edge Hill, QLD, 4870
More info on Tanks Arts Centre
Join the discussion
Help us keep events listings legit
We all want to see useful and correct information, so if you spot anything that looks incorrect or inappropriate, please let us know.