This event has now passed.
Check out other events below that are coming up for this artist and at this venue.

Jing Jin - Zoomed In

Venue: Tanks Arts Centre

8:30am Tuesday 10th December 2019

Email this event to a friend

Jing Jin - Zoomed In

Tue 05 Nov - Sun 15 Dec

Have you ever looked into something you see every day, only to get lost in the details that grow eerier by the second?


Jing Jin is a China-born, US-raised painter, ceramic sculptor, and digital designer currently visiting Australia. Her work draws on the uncanny in everyday landscapes - the swirls and layers in hair, the different textures and surfaces of food items, and, in this case, the rich tapestry of lines and shades in botanical specimens around the Cairns Botanic Gardens.

Jing will create a series of drawings using pencil and charcoal, and an interactive piece that invites the public to contribute to a jigsaw-esque botanical drawing.

Visit the Cairns Botanic Gardens Visitor Centre to engage with this work and you may find other creations by Jing Jin around the Tanks.


Residency: Monday 14 October – Friday 15 November

Display: Tuesday 5 November – Sunday 15 December

Open: 8.30am – 4pm Weekdays, 8.30am – 1pm Weekends

Info: info@tanksartscentre.com.au or jingjinart@gmail.com

Cost: Free
Venue: Botanic Gardens Visitor Centre and around the Tanks

Other upcoming events for this venue 'Tanks Arts Centre'
Fri, 3rd Apr 2020
Artists of the North 2020 - Cairns Art Society
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 4th Apr 2020
Bamboo Connect - Building Bridges by Co-Lab
9:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 10th Apr 2020
Artists of the North 2020 - Cairns Art Society
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 11th Apr 2020
Bamboo Connect - Building Bridges by Co-Lab
9:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 17th Apr 2020
Artists of the North 2020 - Cairns Art Society
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 22nd Apr 2020
PechaKucha Night - Volume 29
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 24th Apr 2020
Artists of the North 2020 - Cairns Art Society
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 24th Apr 2020
IAN MOSS SOLO AND ACOUSTIC - MATCHBOOK 30TH ANNIVERSARY TOUR
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 26th Apr 2020
Harmony Day 2020
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 1st May 2020
Artists of the North 2020 - Cairns Art Society
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 22nd May 2020
Nautilus Scuba Club - Underwater Photography Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 29th May 2020
Nautilus Scuba Club - Underwater Photography Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 5th Jun 2020
Nautilus Scuba Club - Underwater Photography Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 11th Jul 2020
THE RUBENS
THE RUBENS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 17th Jul 2020
TIM ROGERS' LIQUID NIGHTS IN BOHEMIA HEIGHTS
TIM ROGERS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 18th Sep 2020
GRIGORYAN BROTHERS - PAST, PRESENT & FUTURE
GRIGORYAN BROTHERS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 27th Nov 2020
SYDNEY COMEDY FESTIVAL SHOWCASE TOUR 2020
SYDNEY COMEDY FESTIVAL SHOWCASE
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
   
Jing Jin - Zoomed In
Map to Tanks Arts Centre

 

Venue Information
Address: 46 Collins Ave,
Edge Hill, QLD, 4870
More info on Tanks Arts Centre
Join the discussion
Help us keep events listings legit
We all want to see useful and correct information, so if you spot anything that looks incorrect or inappropriate, please let us know.