Elverina Johnson - Fisher Woman Dreaming

Venue: Tanks Arts Centre

9:00am Saturday 7th December 2019

Email this event to a friend

Elverina Johnson - Fisher Woman Dreaming

Sat 09 Nov - Sun 19 Jan

LAUNCH: 6pm, Sat 9 November

Fisher Woman Dreaming is a pictorial memoir by Elverina Johnson, and a tribute to her grandmother, Hilda Murgha (ne Fourmile).


As a young girl, Elverina grew up in a tin shack on the beach in Yarrabah with her family. She’d walk every day to school and come home for a fresh seafood lunch and morning tea. Her grandmother, whose Yidinji name is Murrun Guyurru, meaning cyclonic wind, taught young Elverina to fish, told her stories and instilled such a sense of place and belonging, that now, as an established artist, Elverina wishes to share through this exhibition.

Elverina Johnson's traditional family name is Bunya Badjil, meaning Good Woman. Elverina is of Kunganji Gurugulu lineage on her grandfather's side and Yindinji Gimuy on her grandmother's side.

Launch: 6pm, Sat 9 November

Open: 9am – 4.30pm weekdays, 10am – 2.30 weekends

Please note: The Gallery will be closed from 24 December – 1 January

Info: info@tanksartscentre.com

Cost: Free
Venue: Tank 4

Other upcoming events for this venue 'Tanks Arts Centre'
Fri, 6th Dec 2019
Ten - Crate 59 Ten Year Anniversary
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 6th Dec 2019
FLAME. MUSIC WITH ROBBIE V AND THE COSMONUAUTS AND STONE ALLEY
FLAME. MUSIC WITH ROBBIE V AND THE COSMONAUTS AND STONE ALLEY
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 10th Dec 2019
Jing Jin - Zoomed In
8:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 13th Dec 2019
Ten - Crate 59 Ten Year Anniversary
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 13th Dec 2019
Kerry Lowe - Oceanlife
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 13th Dec 2019
Trent Griffin - Colours of My World
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 14th Dec 2019
Elverina Johnson - Fisher Woman Dreaming
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Mon, 16th Dec 2019
Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 17th Dec 2019
Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 18th Dec 2019
Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 19th Dec 2019
Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 20th Dec 2019
Ten - Crate 59 Ten Year Anniversary
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 20th Dec 2019
Kerry Lowe - Oceanlife
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 20th Dec 2019
Trent Griffin - Colours of My World
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 21st Dec 2019
Elverina Johnson - Fisher Woman Dreaming
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 27th Dec 2019
Ten - Crate 59 Ten Year Anniversary
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 27th Dec 2019
Kerry Lowe - Oceanlife
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 27th Dec 2019
Trent Griffin - Colours of My World
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 28th Dec 2019
Elverina Johnson - Fisher Woman Dreaming
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 3rd Jan 2020
Ten - Crate 59 Ten Year Anniversary
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 3rd Jan 2020
Kerry Lowe - Oceanlife
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 3rd Jan 2020
Trent Griffin - Colours of My World
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 4th Jan 2020
Elverina Johnson - Fisher Woman Dreaming
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 10th Jan 2020
Ten - Crate 59 Ten Year Anniversary
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 10th Jan 2020
Kerry Lowe - Oceanlife
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 10th Jan 2020
Trent Griffin - Colours of My World
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 11th Jan 2020
Elverina Johnson - Fisher Woman Dreaming
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 17th Jan 2020
Ten - Crate 59 Ten Year Anniversary
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 17th Jan 2020
Kerry Lowe - Oceanlife
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 17th Jan 2020
Trent Griffin - Colours of My World
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 18th Jan 2020
Elverina Johnson - Fisher Woman Dreaming
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Mon, 20th Jan 2020
Cairns Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 21st Jan 2020
Cairns Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 22nd Jan 2020
Cairns Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 23rd Jan 2020
Cairns Cairns Minecraft - Digital Design Workshops - Digital Design Workshops
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 8th Feb 2020
THE BEAUTIFUL GIRLS: SEASIDE HIGHLIFE - GREATEST HITS TOUR
THE BEAUTIFUL GIRLS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 28th Feb 2020
C.W. STONEKING
C.W. STONEKING
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 20th Mar 2020
THE BLACK SORROWS
THE BLACK SORROWS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 21st Mar 2020
THE EAST POINTERS - WORLD MUSIC
THE EAST POINTERS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 23rd Apr 2020
IAN MOSS SOLO AND ACOUSTIC - MATCHBOOK 30TH ANNIVERSARY TOUR
IAN MOSS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 24th Apr 2020
IAN MOSS SOLO AND ACOUSTIC - MATCHBOOK 30TH ANNIVERSARY TOUR
IAN MOSS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
   
Elverina Johnson - Fisher Woman Dreaming
Map to Tanks Arts Centre

 

Venue Information
Address: 46 Collins Ave,
Edge Hill, QLD, 4870
More info on Tanks Arts Centre
Join the discussion
Help us keep events listings legit
We all want to see useful and correct information, so if you spot anything that looks incorrect or inappropriate, please let us know.