BELL SHAKESPEARE'S MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING

Venue: CPAC Theatre

Artist: BELL SHAKESPEARE

8:00pm Saturday 14th September 2019

Buy tickets now    Email this event to a friend

BELL SHAKESPEARE'S MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING

Claudio and Hero are deeply in love. Beatrice and Benedick would rather swap sassy insults than sweet nothings.

Much Ado About Nothing is a saucy and razor-sharp battle of wits between the bickering Beatrice and Benedick, who wield words as weapons, their banter betraying their love for each other.

Claudio however is quickly consumed by envy and his idyllic world threatens to come tumbling down as he humiliates Hero. Beatrice and Benedick must join forces to defend true love – even if they can’t recognise it in themselves.

But will truth and honesty win the day, and does love really conquer all?

Directed by Bell Shakespeare’s Associate Director, James Evans (Julius Caesar) and starring Zindzi Okenyo (Antony and Cleopatra, MTC’s An Ideal Husband) as Beatrice, this Much Ado About Nothing will be a powerful exploration of the struggle for identity and self-knowledge in a male-dominated world. The pursuit of love is framed in a social context that enhances the darker themes in this timeless comic gem.

Much Ado About Nothing is one of Shakespeare’s contemporary comedies where romance is thwarted by dastardly plots, misinformation, false accusations, broken promises, and bumbling cops. Or is it?



This project has been assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council for the Arts, its arts funding and advisory body.

Generally there is no right to a refund or exchange except as required by law, or as provided in the Live Performance Australia Ticketing Code of Practice. Please refer to Ticketlink Terms and Conditions on this website.

Other upcoming events for this venue 'CPAC Theatre'
Fri, 21st Jun 2019
DANGEROUS LIAISONS
Queensland Ballet and Texas Ballet Theater.
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Sat, 13th Jul 2019
CULTURAL HEIGHTS
CULTURAL HEIGHTS
2:00PM CPAC Theatre
Sat, 13th Jul 2019
CULTURAL HEIGHTS
CULTURAL HEIGHTS
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Fri, 19th Jul 2019
SOWETO GOSPEL CHOIR 2019
SOWETO GOSPEL CHOIR
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Mon, 22nd Jul 2019
POSSUM MAGIC
monkey baa theatre company
6:00PM CPAC Theatre
Tue, 23rd Jul 2019
POSSUM MAGIC
monkey baa theatre company
10:00AM CPAC Theatre
Tue, 23rd Jul 2019
POSSUM MAGIC
cdp Kids
12:30PM CPAC Theatre
Thu, 25th Jul 2019
SONGS OF THE WORLD
SONGS OF THE WORLD
7:00PM CPAC Theatre
Tue, 30th Jul 2019
OPERA AUSTRALIA - MADAMA BUTTERFLY
OPERA AUSTRALIA
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Sat, 10th Aug 2019
THE HIGHWAYMEN - A MUSICAL TRIBUTE
THE HIGHWAYMEN - A MUSICAL TRIBUTE
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Mon, 12th Aug 2019
MORNING MELODIES - PRACTICALLY PERFECT - THE MUSIC OF JULIE ANDREWS
MORNING MELODIES - PRACTICALLY PERFECT
11:00AM CPAC Theatre
Thu, 29th Aug 2019
LEE KERNAGHAN - BACKROAD NATION TOUR
LEE KERNAGHAN
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Fri, 30th Aug 2019
CIRCA'S PEEPSHOW
Cairns Festival Events
8:00PM CPAC Theatre
Sat, 7th Sep 2019
ROSS NOBLE - HUMOURNOID
ROSS NOBLE
8:00PM CPAC Theatre
Fri, 27th Sep 2019
POSTMODERN JUKEBOX
POSTMODERN JUKEBOX
8:00PM CPAC Theatre
Thu, 3rd Oct 2019
IMPERIAL RUSSIAN BALLET COMPANY: SWAN LAKE
IMPERIAL RUSSIAN BALLET COMPANY
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Thu, 10th Oct 2019
RADICAL REELS TOUR 2019
RADICAL REELS TOUR 2019
7:00PM CPAC Theatre
Fri, 11th Oct 2019
ARJ BARKER- WE NEED TO TALK
ARJ BARKER
8:00PM CPAC Theatre
Tue, 15th Oct 2019
SPOT
cdp Kids
10:00AM CPAC Theatre
Tue, 15th Oct 2019
SPOT
cdp Kids
12:30PM CPAC Theatre
Mon, 28th Oct 2019
MORNING MELODIES - TENORI - TIMELESS
MORNING MELODIES - TENORI
11:00AM CPAC Theatre
Sat, 2nd Nov 2019
THE ULTIMATE EAGLES EXPERIENCE
THE ULTIMATE EAGLES EXPERIENCE
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Tue, 12th Nov 2019
SMOKIE
SMOKIE
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Mon, 18th Nov 2019
MORNING MELODIES - CHRISTMAS WITH KAREN KNOWLES
KAREN KNOWLES
11:00AM CPAC Theatre
BELL SHAKESPEARE'S MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING
Map to CPAC Theatre

 

Venue Information
Address: Sheridian & Florence Streets, QLD, 4870
More info on CPAC Theatre
View Promoters Profile
Ticketlink
Buy tickets online
Buy tickets now
Join the discussion
Help us keep events listings legit
We all want to see useful and correct information, so if you spot anything that looks incorrect or inappropriate, please let us know.