This event has now passed.
Check out other events below that are coming up for this artist and at this venue.

Drawing Green - Michael Pope Residency and Exhibition

Venue: Tanks Arts Centre

9:00am Tuesday 7th September 2021

Email this event to a friend

Drawing Green - Michael Pope Residency and Exhibition

EXHIBITION: 7 September - 3 October.

Townsville-based artist Michael Pope will undertake a three-week residency to create a new body of work as he explores the tropical environment of the Cairns Botanic Gardens.

Pope, on his last visit to Cairns in December 2020, was struck by the walls of green around Edge Hill, the layers of plants and the beauty of the tropics. It was then that he decided to come back and explore the area through drawing. His works, completed en plein air with an Artline 70 permanent marker, will document the artist's experiences of the Cairns Botanic Gardens and Tanks Arts Centre and form the basis of an exhibition to be displayed at Botanic Gardens Visitor Centre in September.

Image caption: Gardens #3 (detail) 2020, ink, marker pen and watercolour on paper

Info: info@tanksartscentre.com

Open: 8.30am – 4.00pm Weekdays, 9.30am – 2.00pm Weekends
Cost: Free
Venue: Botanic Gardens Visitor Centre

Other upcoming events for this venue 'Tanks Arts Centre'
Sat, 25th Sep 2021
ImagiNATION Pump House Residency with Ellen Ericson
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 26th Sep 2021
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 26th Sep 2021
ImagiNATION Pump House Residency with Ellen Ericson
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 28th Sep 2021
Drawing Green - Michael Pope Residency and Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 1st Oct 2021
ENERGY 2021
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 1st Oct 2021
THE IRONING MAIDENS
THE IRONING MAIDENS
6:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 8th Oct 2021
MIKE RIVETT
MIKE RIVETT
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 9th Oct 2021
Eddie Skiba Album Launch Celebration Tanks Arts Centre
Eddie Skiba (Rock / Indie / Acoustic Band Solo Duo)
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 15th Oct 2021
Cairns Pride Festival Art Exhibtion
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 15th Oct 2021
MAU POWER
MAU POWER
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 16th Oct 2021
Cairns Pride Festival Art Exhibtion
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 17th Oct 2021
Cairns Pride Festival Art Exhibtion
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Mon, 18th Oct 2021
Cairns Pride Festival Art Exhibtion
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 19th Oct 2021
Cairns Pride Festival Art Exhibtion
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 20th Oct 2021
Cairns Pride Festival Art Exhibtion
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 21st Oct 2021
Cairns Pride Festival Art Exhibtion
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 22nd Oct 2021
Cairns Pride Festival Art Exhibtion
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 22nd Oct 2021
HAMLET AND THE CLIMATE EMERGENCY
HAMLET AND THE CLIMATE EMERGENCY
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 22nd Oct 2021
GRETA STANLEY SINGLE LAUNCH
Greta Stanley
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 23rd Oct 2021
Cairns Pride Festival Art Exhibtion
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 23rd Oct 2021
HAMLET AND THE CLIMATE EMERGENCY
HAMLET AND THE CLIMATE EMERGENCY
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 24th Oct 2021
Cairns Pride Festival Art Exhibtion
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 24th Oct 2021
HOCKEY DAD
HOCKEY DAD
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 29th Oct 2021
LADY VALIANT AND THE JOKER POKERS
LADY VALIANT AND THE JOKER POKERS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 30th Oct 2021
[insert image here] - TAFE Diploma Graduates of 2021
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 31st Oct 2021
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 6th Nov 2021
[insert image here] - TAFE Diploma Graduates of 2021
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 6th Nov 2021
DAVID STRASSMAN – THE CHOCOLATE DIET
David Strassman
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 7th Nov 2021
DAVID STRASSMAN – THE CHOCOLATE DIET
David Strassman
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 12th Nov 2021
SWAMP DONKEY AND THE BRAZILIANS
SWAMP DONKEY AND THE BRAZILIANS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 13th Nov 2021
[insert image here] - TAFE Diploma Graduates of 2021
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 14th Jan 2022
HOLLOW COVES
HOLLOW COVES
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Drawing Green - Michael Pope Residency and Exhibition
Map to Tanks Arts Centre

 

Venue Information
Address: 46 Collins Ave,
Edge Hill, QLD, 4870
More info on Tanks Arts Centre
Join the discussion
Help us keep events listings legit
We all want to see useful and correct information, so if you spot anything that looks incorrect or inappropriate, please let us know.