This event has now passed.
Check out other events below that are coming up for this artist and at this venue.

Elizabeth Hunter - Momento Mori: Art, Death and the Afterlife

Venue: Tanks Arts Centre

9:00am Friday 10th November 2017

Email this event to a friend

Elizabeth Hunter - Momento Mori: Art, Death and the Afterlife

Fri 27 Oct - Sun 12 Nov

LAUNCH: 6PM FRI 27 OCTOBER

Local printmaker and installation artist Elizabeth Hunter has been working for the last four years, making pieces for a special celebration of The Day of The Dead.

Memento Mori is Latin for Remember you must die; it is a fact of the human condition, the inescapable demise of all living things and encompasses all cultures and religions. Acknowledgment of Death is the catalyst for life, the motivator that gives life meaning.

Memento Mori: Art, Death and the Afterlife is an immersive installation, built specifically for Tank 3, creating an ethereal environment, embracing the profane and the sacred in a journey through the sensual stimulus of visual artwork, lighting, scent and sound, inspiring meditation and reflection on the temporariness of Life and our last rite of passage, Death.
This installation is only open at night, including Halloween (31 October) and Day of the Dead (2 November).

OPEN: 6.00PM – 9:00PM NIGHTLY
INFO:Elizabeth Hunter elizabeth2230@gmail.com

Cost: Free
Venue: Tank 3

Other upcoming events for this venue 'Tanks Arts Centre'
Sun, 23rd Sep 2018
SHEPPARD - WATCHING THE SKY TOUR
SHEPPARD
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 25th Sep 2018
Tree Kangaroo Paintings and Shorebird Sculptures
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 27th Sep 2018
Pete Marshall, BVSc, SAA, AFC, AGRA - Birds of Cattana Sun 19 Aug - Sun 30 Sep
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 28th Sep 2018
Energy 2018
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 30th Sep 2018
TANKS’ MONTHLY MARKETS
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 30th Sep 2018
Art workshops with Residential Artist Pete Marshall
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 2nd Oct 2018
Tree Kangaroo Paintings and Shorebird Sculptures
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 9th Oct 2018
Tree Kangaroo Paintings and Shorebird Sculptures
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 10th Oct 2018
Tropical Gaze 2018 - Cairns Tropical Pride
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 10th Oct 2018
A Story of Vanilla with Russell and Mary Spanton
6:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 11th Oct 2018
A Sense of Place : Explore Your Space - Workshops with Margaret Worthington
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 13th Oct 2018
Understory Film Festival - Locally Produced Short Films
1:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 14th Oct 2018
A Sense of Place : Explore Your Space - Workshops with Margaret Worthington
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 14th Oct 2018
Cairns Tropical Pride Fair Day
10:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Mon, 15th Oct 2018
Order & Chaos - JCU Creative Arts Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 16th Oct 2018
Order & Chaos - JCU Creative Arts Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 17th Oct 2018
Tropical Gaze 2018 - Cairns Tropical Pride
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 17th Oct 2018
Order & Chaos - JCU Creative Arts Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 18th Oct 2018
Order & Chaos - JCU Creative Arts Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 19th Oct 2018
Order & Chaos - JCU Creative Arts Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 19th Oct 2018
TWELFTH NIGHT
Tropical Arts
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 19th Oct 2018
TOMMY LITTLE & LUKE MCGREGOR - LIVE
TOMMY LITTLE & LUKE MCGREGOR
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 20th Oct 2018
Order & Chaos - JCU Creative Arts Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 20th Oct 2018
TOMMY LITTLE & LUKE MCGREGOR - LIVE
TOMMY LITTLE & LUKE MCGREGOR
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 21st Oct 2018
Order & Chaos - JCU Creative Arts Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Mon, 22nd Oct 2018
Order & Chaos - JCU Creative Arts Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 23rd Oct 2018
Order & Chaos - JCU Creative Arts Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 24th Oct 2018
Tropical Gaze 2018 - Cairns Tropical Pride
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 24th Oct 2018
Order & Chaos - JCU Creative Arts Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 24th Oct 2018
PechaKucha Night - Volume 25
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 25th Oct 2018
Order & Chaos - JCU Creative Arts Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 26th Oct 2018
SYDNEY COMEDY FESTIVAL SHOWCASE
SYDNEY COMEDY FESTIVAL SHOWCASE
8:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 28th Oct 2018
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 28th Oct 2018
Bobby McGuire @ Tanks Markets
Bobby Maguire (Rock / Acoustic / Originals Solo)
12:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 31st Oct 2018
Tropical Gaze 2018 - Cairns Tropical Pride
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 3rd Nov 2018
Soul Song Rockstar - Choir but not as you know it
Soul Song Choir Cairns (Pop / Choral / Soul Choir)
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 3rd Nov 2018
SOUL SONG: ROCKSTAR 2018
SOUL SONG: ROCKSTAR 2018
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 17th Nov 2018
Masque Expressif - Workshop for Actors
9:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 17th Nov 2018
THE SUPERJESUS - 20 YEARS OF SUMO
THE SUPERJESUS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 18th Nov 2018
Masque Expressif - Workshop for Actors
9:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 23rd Nov 2018
TANKS UNPLUGGED NOVEMBER 2018
TANKS UNPLUGGED NOVEMBER 2018
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 24th Nov 2018
BRITISH INDIA
BRITISH INDIA
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 13th Dec 2018
THE RUBENS - LO LA RU ALBUM TOUR
THE RUBENS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 13th Dec 2018
THE RUBENS - LO LA RU ALBUM TOUR
THE RUBENS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 14th Dec 2018
THE RUBENS - LO LA RU ALBUM TOUR
THE RUBENS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 14th Dec 2018
THE RUBENS - LO LA RU ALBUM TOUR
THE RUBENS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 23rd Feb 2019
EVES KARYDAS - SUMMERSKIN TOUR
EVES KARYDAS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 13th Apr 2019
KEB' MO'
KEB' MO'
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Elizabeth Hunter - Momento Mori: Art, Death and the Afterlife
Map to this venue

View Larger Map

 

Venue Information
Address: 46 Collins Ave,
Edge Hill, QLD, 4870
More info on Tanks Arts Centre
Join the discussion
Help us keep events listings legit
We all want to see useful and correct information, so if you spot anything that looks incorrect or inappropriate, please let us know.