This event has now passed.
Check out other events below that are coming up for this artist and at this venue.

TANKS ROUND CINEMA - MATANGI / MAYA / M.I.A.

Venue: Tanks Arts Centre

Artist: End Credits Film Club

7:30pm Wednesday 27th February 2019

Buy tickets now    Email this event to a friend

TANKS ROUND CINEMA - MATANGI / MAYA / M.I.A.

Drawn from a cache of personal video recordings from the past 22 years, director Steve Loveridge’s Sundance award winning MATANGI / MAYA / M.I.A. is a startlingly personal profile of the critically acclaimed artist, chronicling her remarkable journey from refugee immigrant to pop star.

She began as Matangi. Daughter of the founder of Sri Lanka’s armed Tamil resistance, she hid from the government in the face of a vicious and bloody civil war. When her family fled to the UK, she became Maya, a precocious and creative immigrant teenager in London. Finally, the world met her as M.I.A. when she emerged on the global stage, having created a mashup, cut-and-paste identity that pulled from every corner of her journey along the way; a sonic sketchbook that blended Tamil politics, art school punk, hip-hop beats and the unwavering, ultra-confident voice of a burgeoning multicultural youth.

Never one to compromise on her vision, Maya kept her camera rolling throughout. MATANGI / MAYA / M.I.A. provides unparalleled, intimate access to the artist in her battles with the music industry and mainstream media as her success and fame explodes, becoming one of the most recognizable, outspoken and provocative voices in music today.



Generally there is no right to a refund or exchange except as required by law, or as provided in the Live Performance Australia Ticketing Code of Practice. Please refer to Ticketlink Terms and Conditions on this website.

Other upcoming events for this venue 'Tanks Arts Centre'
Sun, 28th Apr 2019
Harmony Day Festival - Free Event
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 28th Apr 2019
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 28th Apr 2019
Market Day Fun
Blue Reed (Gypsy / Swing / Jazz Band)
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 30th Apr 2019
Peter Shanahan's Insect Exhibition - Children's Activity
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 3rd May 2019
GUITARRA FLAMENCA - WORLD MUSIC
Paco Lara & Damian Wright
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 7th May 2019
Peter Shanahan's Insect Exhibition - Children's Activity
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 8th May 2019
Moth Night with Dr David Rentz (AM)
6:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 11th May 2019
Bamboo Connect by Co-Lab | Free Activities for Kids
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 11th May 2019
QMusic & Close Contact Present - Industry Connect Regional Workshop
10:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 11th May 2019
ZENNITH
ZENNITH
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 14th May 2019
Peter Shanahan's Insect Exhibition - Children's Activity
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 16th May 2019
A is for Art Forum - Children's Art Forum
5:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 16th May 2019
MEG MAC - GIVE ME MY NAME BACK TOUR
MEG MAC
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 17th May 2019
THE BAMBOOS
THE BAMBOOS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 18th May 2019
Cairns Children's Festival
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 18th May 2019
Tinkering Tank
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 19th May 2019
Cairns Children's Festival
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 19th May 2019
Tinkering Tank
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 19th May 2019
screenPLAY
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 19th May 2019
JINA'S JOURNEY
Miriki Performing Arts
9:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 19th May 2019
The Whale’s Tale by Born in a Taxi
11:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 19th May 2019
JINA'S JOURNEY
Miriki Performing Arts
12:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 21st May 2019
Undersea Garden - Re-imagined Recycled Reef Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 24th May 2019
Cop's Day Off
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 24th May 2019
Shaz Spannenburg - Sky Flowers
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 24th May 2019
Pete Marshall, BVSC, SAA, AFC, AGRA - Birds of Cattana
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 24th May 2019
TIKI TAANE & P-DIGSSS
TIKI TAANE & P-DIGSSS
6:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 26th May 2019
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 26th May 2019
Tanks Sunday Markets
Mikey Mike Music (Acoustic / Indie / Folk Solo)
10:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 26th May 2019
Cairns African Festival
2:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 28th May 2019
Undersea Garden - Re-imagined Recycled Reef Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 31st May 2019
Shaz Spannenburg - Sky Flowers
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 31st May 2019
Cop's Day Off
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 31st May 2019
Pete Marshall, BVSC, SAA, AFC, AGRA - Birds of Cattana
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 31st May 2019
FLORIAN HOEFNER INTERNATIONAL JAZZ QUARTET
FLORIAN HOEFNER INTERNATIONAL JAZZ QUARTET
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 2nd Jun 2019
Birdlife Drawing with Pete Marshall
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Mon, 3rd Jun 2019
Arts Law Advice for Artists Workshop and One On One Clinics
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 4th Jun 2019
Arts Law Advice for Artists Workshop and One On One Clinics
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 4th Jun 2019
Undersea Garden - Re-imagined Recycled Reef Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 5th Jun 2019
Arts Law Advice for Artists Workshop and One On One Clinics
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 7th Jun 2019
Cop's Day Off
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 7th Jun 2019
Pete Marshall, BVSC, SAA, AFC, AGRA - Birds of Cattana
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 7th Jun 2019
Shaz Spannenburg - Sky Flowers
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 9th Jun 2019
Birdlife Drawing with Pete Marshall
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 11th Jun 2019
Undersea Garden - Re-imagined Recycled Reef Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 18th Jun 2019
Undersea Garden - Re-imagined Recycled Reef Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 28th Jun 2019
DEBORAH CONWAY, WILLY ZYGIER & THE MEN
DEBORAH CONWAY, WILLY ZYGIER & THE MEN
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 19th Jul 2019
EMMA PASK
EMMA PASK
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Other upcoming events available at TicketLINK
Sat, 27th Apr 2019
#FIRSTWORLDWHITEGIRLS: SPIRIT ANIMAL
7:30PM
Tue, 30th Apr 2019
THE CHAT ROOM
8:00PM
Thu, 2nd May 2019
FIDDLER ON THE ROOF
7:30PM
Thu, 2nd May 2019
THE CHAT ROOM
8:00PM
Fri, 3rd May 2019
FIDDLER ON THE ROOF
10:30AM
Fri, 3rd May 2019
FIDDLER ON THE ROOF
7:30PM
Fri, 3rd May 2019
THE CHAT ROOM
8:00PM
Sat, 4th May 2019
SYDNEY WRITERS FESTIVAL LIVESTREAM 2019
1:30PM
Sat, 4th May 2019
THE UMBILICAL BROTHERS: SPEEDMOUSE
8:00PM
Sat, 4th May 2019
THE CHAT ROOM
8:00PM
Sun, 5th May 2019
SYDNEY WRITERS FESTIVAL LIVESTREAM 2019
11:30AM
Sat, 11th May 2019
THE WIGGLES-WIGGLE FUN TOUR!
10:00AM
Sat, 11th May 2019
THE WIGGLES-WIGGLE FUN TOUR!
12:30PM
Sat, 11th May 2019
THE WIGGLES-WIGGLE FUN TOUR!
2:30PM
Wed, 15th May 2019
SENIOR MOMENTS
1:00PM
Wed, 15th May 2019
SENIOR MOMENTS
7:30PM
Sat, 18th May 2019
ESCAPE TO THE THEATRE
9:00AM
Sat, 18th May 2019
ESCAPE TO THE THEATRE
12:30PM
Sat, 18th May 2019
ESCAPE TO THE THEATRE
3:30PM
Sun, 19th May 2019
ESCAPE TO THE THEATRE
9:00AM
Sun, 19th May 2019
WOLFGANG'S MAGICAL MUSICAL CIRCUS
10:30AM
Sun, 19th May 2019
ESCAPE TO THE THEATRE
12:30PM
Sun, 19th May 2019
WOLFGANG'S MAGICAL MUSICAL CIRCUS
2:00PM
Sun, 19th May 2019
ESCAPE TO THE THEATRE
3:30PM
Thu, 23rd May 2019
CIRCUS WONDERLAND - A MERMAID'S TALE
5:00PM
Fri, 24th May 2019
PORT DOUGLAS CARNIVALE LONGEST LUNCH 2019
11:30AM
Fri, 24th May 2019
SINGIN' IN THE RAIN
12:00PM
Fri, 24th May 2019
SINGIN' IN THE RAIN
7:30PM
Fri, 24th May 2019
DEBAUCHED - LATE NIGHT BURLESQUE
10:30PM
Sat, 25th May 2019
CIRCUS WONDERLAND - A MERMAID'S TALE
11:00AM
Sat, 25th May 2019
SINGIN' IN THE RAIN
12:00PM
Sat, 25th May 2019
CIRCUS WONDERLAND - A MERMAID'S TALE
2:00PM
Sat, 25th May 2019
SINGIN' IN THE RAIN
7:30PM
Sat, 25th May 2019
DEBAUCHED - LATE NIGHT BURLESQUE
10:30PM
Sun, 26th May 2019
CIRCUS WONDERLAND - A MERMAID'S TALE
11:00AM
Sun, 26th May 2019
CIRCUS WONDERLAND - A MERMAID'S TALE
2:00PM
Sun, 2nd Jun 2019
CLASSICAL SUNSET - AUSTRALIAN TREASURES
3:30PM
Tue, 4th Jun 2019
ARTS LAW ADVICE FOR ARTISTS WORKSHOP
9:00AM
Fri, 7th Jun 2019
A TASTE OF IRELAND - THE IRISH MUSIC & DANCE SENSATION
8:00PM
Mon, 10th Jun 2019
BILLIONAIRE BOY
6:00PM
Tue, 11th Jun 2019
BILLIONAIRE BOY
10:00AM
Fri, 14th Jun 2019
THE ROBERTSON BROTHERS 60'S VARIETY SHOW
8:00PM
Sat, 15th Jun 2019
JAMES COOK UNIVERSITY BUSINESS EXCELLENCE AWARDS 2019
7:00PM
Fri, 21st Jun 2019
DANGEROUS LIAISONS
7:30PM
Fri, 19th Jul 2019
SOWETO GOSPEL CHOIR 2019
7:30PM
Fri, 19th Jul 2019
THE SONGS OF DOLLY PARTON
8:00PM
Mon, 22nd Jul 2019
POSSUM MAGIC
6:00PM
Tue, 23rd Jul 2019
POSSUM MAGIC
10:00AM
Tue, 23rd Jul 2019
POSSUM MAGIC
12:30PM
Tue, 30th Jul 2019
OPERA AUSTRALIA - MADAMA BUTTERFLY
7:30PM
Wed, 7th Aug 2019
THE GRUMPIEST BOY IN THE WORLD
6:00PM
Thu, 8th Aug 2019
THE GRUMPIEST BOY IN THE WORLD
10:00AM
Thu, 8th Aug 2019
THE GRUMPIEST BOY IN THE WORLD
12:30PM
Sat, 10th Aug 2019
THE HIGHWAYMEN - A MUSICAL TRIBUTE
7:30PM
Thu, 29th Aug 2019
LEE KERNAGHAN - BACKROAD NATION TOUR
7:30PM
Sun, 22nd Sep 2019
CLASSICAL SERENADE - NQ CHAMBER ORCHESTRA
3:00PM
Thu, 3rd Oct 2019
IMPERIAL RUSSIAN BALLET COMPANY: SWAN LAKE
7:30PM
Tue, 15th Oct 2019
SPOT
10:00AM
Tue, 15th Oct 2019
SPOT
12:30PM
Tue, 15th Oct 2019
SPOT
6:00PM
Mon, 18th Nov 2019
MORNING MELODIES - CHRISTMAS WITH KAREN KNOWLES
11:00AM
   
TANKS ROUND CINEMA - MATANGI / MAYA / M.I.A.
Map to Tanks Arts Centre

 

Venue Information
Address: 46 Collins Ave,
Edge Hill, QLD, 4870
More info on Tanks Arts Centre
View Promoters Profile
Ticketlink
Buy tickets online
Buy tickets now
Join the discussion
Help us keep events listings legit
We all want to see useful and correct information, so if you spot anything that looks incorrect or inappropriate, please let us know.