This event has now passed.
Check out other events below that are coming up for this artist and at this venue.

Thancoupie Tribute - A Legacy of Cultural Power

Venue: Tanks Arts Centre

9:00am Friday 19th July 2019

Email this event to a friend

Thancoupie Tribute - A Legacy of Cultural Power

Fri 05 Jul - Sun 21 Jul

LAUNCH: 5pm Friday 12 July

Thancoupie Gloria Fletcher AO (1937-2011) was an exceptional pioneering artist, linguist, teacher and cultural leader from Napranum in Far North Queensland.

Thancoupie was the first Aboriginal woman to become a potter, to have a solo exhibition overseas, to graduate from art college, to receive two honorary doctorates and to be an Australian Cultural commissioner overseas.

Thancoupie enjoyed sharing her passion with everyone, especially running art camps for children on her traditional land of Bouchat north of Weipa. Thancoupie had many exhibitions and her ceramics were collected by major art galleries around Australia and internationally. Thancoupie continues to be a source of inspiration for many artists.

In honouring CIAF’s original Patron, this tribute exhibition will celebrate her contribution to the arts and highlight the profound legacy she left behind.

Launch: 5pm, Friday 12 July

Open: 9am – 4.30pm weekdays, 10am – 4pm weekends

Info: www.ciaf.com.au/program

Cost: Free
Venue: Tank 4

Other upcoming events for this venue 'Tanks Arts Centre'
Wed, 24th Jul 2019
Nautilus Scuba Dive Club - Underwater Photography Exhibition
8:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 24th Jul 2019
Joanne Sisson and Helen Braun - Preserve
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 26th Jul 2019
Reasonable & Necessary - Prints and Artist Books by Artel Artists
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 26th Jul 2019
Our Journeys - Homeless to Housing Exhibiton
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 26th Jul 2019
Willing & Able - A Critical Thinkers Forum
1:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 28th Jul 2019
VEXPO
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 28th Jul 2019
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 28th Jul 2019
Market Day with Waking Ugly
Waking Ugly (Acoustic / Pop / Rock Duo)
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 30th Jul 2019
Carme Dapena - Cairns Butterflies, Stages of Life
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 31st Jul 2019
Nautilus Scuba Dive Club - Underwater Photography Exhibition
8:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 31st Jul 2019
Joanne Sisson and Helen Braun - Preserve
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 2nd Aug 2019
Reasonable & Necessary - Prints and Artist Books by Artel Artists
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 2nd Aug 2019
Our Journeys - Homeless to Housing Exhibiton
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 2nd Aug 2019
THE COPE STREET PARADE
THE COPE STREET PARADE
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 3rd Aug 2019
JIM MOGINIE AND THE FAMILY DOG
JIM MOGINIE AND THE FAMILY DOG
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 6th Aug 2019
Carme Dapena - Cairns Butterflies, Stages of Life
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 7th Aug 2019
Joanne Sisson and Helen Braun - Preserve
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 8th Aug 2019
HOODOO GURUS
HOODOO GURUS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 9th Aug 2019
Reasonable & Necessary - Prints and Artist Books by Artel Artists
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 9th Aug 2019
Our Journeys - Homeless to Housing Exhibiton
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 9th Aug 2019
SALMONELLA DUB SOUNDSYSTEM
SALMONELLA DUB SOUNDSYSTEM
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 13th Aug 2019
Carme Dapena - Cairns Butterflies, Stages of Life
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 14th Aug 2019
PechaKucha Night - Volume 27
7:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 14th Aug 2019
Joanne Sisson and Helen Braun - Preserve
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 16th Aug 2019
Reasonable & Necessary - Prints and Artist Books by Artel Artists
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 16th Aug 2019
Our Journeys - Homeless to Housing Exhibiton
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 16th Aug 2019
PIERCE BROTHERS
PIERCE BROTHERS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Mon, 19th Aug 2019
PUB CHOIR
Astrid, Waveney and Meg
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 21st Aug 2019
Queensland Poetry Slam Heat 2019
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 30th Aug 2019
Energy 2019
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 30th Aug 2019
You Should Be Dancing - A Project by Everybody Now
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 31st Aug 2019
You Should Be Dancing - A Project by Everybody Now
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 1st Sep 2019
Carnival On Collins
Presented by: Cairns Festival 2019
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 5th Sep 2019
JON STEVENS - THE NOISEWORKS & INXS COLLECTION
JON STEVENS - THE NOISEWORKS & INXS COLLECTION
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 6th Sep 2019
Energy 2019
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 7th Sep 2019
MELBOURNE SKA ORCHESTRA - ONE YEAR OF SKA
MELBOURNE SKA ORCHESTRA
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 13th Sep 2019
Energy 2019
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 13th Sep 2019
JUSTIN TOWNES EARLE
JUSTIN TOWNES EARLE
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 14th Sep 2019
EMMA LOUISE
EMMA LOUISE
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 20th Sep 2019
Energy 2019
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Wed, 25th Sep 2019
MAMAMIA OUT LOUD LIVE
MAMAMIA OUT LOUD LIVE
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 27th Sep 2019
Energy 2019
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 4th Oct 2019
Energy 2019
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 5th Oct 2019
SEEKER LOVER KEEPER
SEEKER LOVER KEEPER
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 11th Oct 2019
REGURGITATOR
REGURGITATOR
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 18th Oct 2019
THE TURNER BROWN BAND
THE TURNER BROWN BAND
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 25th Oct 2019
SYDNEY COMEDY FESTIVAL SHOWCASE
SYDNEY COMEDY FESTIVAL SHOWCASE
8:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 8th Nov 2019
HAMMERHEAD
HAMMERHEAD
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 29th Nov 2019
KASEY CHAMBERS THE CAPTAIN 20TH ANNIVERSARY TOUR
Kasey Chambers
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
   
Thancoupie Tribute - A Legacy of Cultural Power
Map to Tanks Arts Centre

 

Venue Information
Address: 46 Collins Ave,
Edge Hill, QLD, 4870
More info on Tanks Arts Centre
Join the discussion
Help us keep events listings legit
We all want to see useful and correct information, so if you spot anything that looks incorrect or inappropriate, please let us know.