This event has now passed.
Check out other events below that are coming up for this artist and at this venue.

The HeART Project - Rheumatic Heart Disease Program Queensland

Venue: Tanks Arts Centre

9:00am Friday 12th February 2021

Email this event to a friend

The HeART Project - Rheumatic Heart Disease Program Queensland

Fri 29 Jan - Thu 18 Feb
LAUNCH: 6pm, Friday 29 January

‘HeART’ features artists from across northern correctional & detention facilities, with works portraying their personal impression of acute rheumatic fever (ARF) and rheumatic heart disease (RHD) and how the disease has impacted their families and communities.

The HeART art project was a collaboration between the RHD Register and Control Program in Queensland (the RHD Program) and North Queensland’s correction and detention facilities of Stuart in Townsville (women), Lotus Glen in Mareeba (men), and the Cleveland Youth Centre.

RHD Program staff found that some residents with ARF and RHD were refusing the required treatment with penicillin injections (secondary prophylaxis), generally believing this was not needed whilst residing in the facilities. A health promotion activity was initiated aimed at putting education back into the hands of those living with the disease.

Facility residents created paintings based on their experience with and understanding of the disease. Through their art they educate others about the seriousness of ARF and RHD and share their personal stories.

LAUNCH: 6pm Friday 29 January

VENUE: Tank 4 COST: Free

OPEN: 9.00am – 4.30pm weekdays, 10am – 2.00pm weekends.

INFO: ARF and RHD information on www.RHDaustralia.org.au RHD Program Qld 1300 429536

Other upcoming events for this venue 'Tanks Arts Centre'
Thu, 4th Mar 2021
Eddie Skiba Supporting Black Sorrows
Eddie Skiba (Rock / Indie / Acoustic Band Solo Duo)
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 4th Mar 2021
Tanks Up Late - Robert Cini
Robert Cini (Acoustic / Folk / Roots Solo)
10:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 5th Mar 2021
Teeya Ryan - Absent Friends
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 5th Mar 2021
THE BLACK SORROWS
THE BLACK SORROWS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 5th Mar 2021
Tanks Up Late - Robert Cini
Robert Cini (Acoustic / Folk / Roots Solo)
10:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 6th Mar 2021
Flame 2021 - International Women's Day Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 11th Mar 2021
TANKS ROUND CINEMA - CROCK OF GOLD: A FEW ROUNDS WITH SHANE MACGOWAN
TANKS ROUND CINEMA
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 12th Mar 2021
Teeya Ryan - Absent Friends
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 13th Mar 2021
Flame 2021 - International Women's Day Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 14th Mar 2021
Pi Day- A Celebration of Circles
10:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 19th Mar 2021
Teeya Ryan - Absent Friends
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 20th Mar 2021
Flame 2021 - International Women's Day Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 26th Mar 2021
BOLERO AND BEYOND
QSO Connect
11:30AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 26th Mar 2021
BOLERO AND BEYOND
QSO Connect
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 16th Apr 2021
Ian Moss Solo and Acoustic - Matchbook 30th Anniversary Tour
IAN MOSS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 17th Apr 2021
Ian Moss Solo and Acoustic - Matchbook 30th Anniversary Tour
IAN MOSS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 18th Apr 2021
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 1st May 2021
THE TONI CHILDS RETROSPECTIVE - A 30 YEAR ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION!
TONI CHILDS
3:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 1st May 2021
THE TONI CHILDS RETROSPECTIVE - A 30 YEAR ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION!
TONI CHILDS
8:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 22nd May 2021
EVES KARYDAS - QUEENSLAND TOUR
EVES KARYDAS
4:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 22nd May 2021
EVES KARYDAS - QUEENSLAND TOUR
EVES KARYDAS
8:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 23rd May 2021
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 28th May 2021
JEFF LANG "SOME MEMORIES NEVER DIE" BOOK TOUR - AN EVENING OF WORDS AND MUSIC
JEFF LANG
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 27th Jun 2021
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 25th Jul 2021
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 26th Sep 2021
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 26th Sep 2021
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 31st Oct 2021
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 28th Nov 2021
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
   
The HeART Project - Rheumatic Heart Disease Program Queensland
Map to Tanks Arts Centre

 

Venue Information
Address: 46 Collins Ave,
Edge Hill, QLD, 4870
More info on Tanks Arts Centre
Join the discussion
Help us keep events listings legit
We all want to see useful and correct information, so if you spot anything that looks incorrect or inappropriate, please let us know.