This event has now passed.
Check out other events below that are coming up for this artist and at this venue.

Where's Your Permit CIAF Satellite Exhibition

Venue: Tanks Arts Centre

9:00am Saturday 14th August 2021

Email this event to a friend

Where's Your Permit CIAF Satellite Exhibition

Sat 07 Aug - Sun 22 Aug
LAUNCH: 5pm Friday 20 August

CURATOR & ARTIST'S TALK: 10:30am Saturday 21 August

Australian communities are living through a period of restrictions on movement in response to controlling the spread of Covid-19. For many of our Elders, it is not the first time they have lived with restrictions on movement.

It was not that long ago that Queenslands First Peoples lived under the control of Protectors and Chief Protectors under the Aboriginal Protection and Restriction of the Sale of Opium Act and related Acts implemented from the late 19th century to the late 20th century. Under these Acts the movement of Indigenous people was restricted and permits were required to leave the mission or reserve, or dwell away from the reserve.

Curated by CIAFs Artistic Director Janina Harding and artist and designer Francoise Lane of Indij Design, this exhibition is a platform for truth telling, presenting visual stories that offer an insight to the oppressive policies and paternalistic treatment of Queenslands First Peoples.

Image caption: Bring it to the table, screen print on linen cloth by Yarrabah Arts and Cultural Precinct Artists, Edna Ambrym, Wayne Connolly, Michelle Yeatman and Philomena Yeatman. Collaborative printer: Hannah Parker

Info: ciaf.com.au

Launch: 5pm Friday 20 August

Curator's & Artist's Talk: 10:30am Saturday 21 August

Open: 9.00am 4.30pm Weekdays, 10am 2.00pm Weekends
Cost: Free
Venue: Tank 4

Other upcoming events for this venue 'Tanks Arts Centre'
Fri, 17th Sep 2021
ENERGY 2021
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 18th Sep 2021
TROPICAL STEAMPUNK 2021 - THE GALA COSTUME PARTY OF THE YEAR
TROPICAL STEAMPUNK 2021
6:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 18th Sep 2021
GEORGIAXBYRNE, TESSA DEVINE AND VIVIEN AISI
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 21st Sep 2021
Drawing Green - Michael Pope Residency and Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 23rd Sep 2021
LISA MITCHELL
LISA MITCHELL
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 24th Sep 2021
ENERGY 2021
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 25th Sep 2021
JEFF LANG "SOME MEMORIES NEVER DIE" BOOK TOUR - AN EVENING OF WORDS AND MUSIC
JEFF LANG
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 26th Sep 2021
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 26th Sep 2021
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Tue, 28th Sep 2021
Drawing Green - Michael Pope Residency and Exhibition
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 1st Oct 2021
ENERGY 2021
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 1st Oct 2021
THE IRONING MAIDENS
THE IRONING MAIDENS
6:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 8th Oct 2021
MIKE RIVETT
MIKE RIVETT
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 15th Oct 2021
MAU POWER
MAU POWER
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 22nd Oct 2021
HAMLET AND THE CLIMATE EMERGENCY
HAMLET AND THE CLIMATE EMERGENCY
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 22nd Oct 2021
GRETA STANLEY SINGLE LAUNCH
Greta Stanley
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 23rd Oct 2021
HAMLET AND THE CLIMATE EMERGENCY
HAMLET AND THE CLIMATE EMERGENCY
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 24th Oct 2021
HOCKEY DAD
HOCKEY DAD
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 29th Oct 2021
LADY VALIANT AND THE JOKER POKERS
LADY VALIANT AND THE JOKER POKERS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 31st Oct 2021
Tanks' Monthly Markets
9:00AM Tanks Arts Centre
Sat, 6th Nov 2021
DAVID STRASSMAN – THE CHOCOLATE DIET
David Strassman
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Sun, 7th Nov 2021
DAVID STRASSMAN – THE CHOCOLATE DIET
David Strassman
7:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Thu, 11th Nov 2021
OF SPIRIT AND STORY - CIAF 2021 FASHION PERFORMANCE
CIAF 2021 FASHION PERFORMANCE
2:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 12th Nov 2021
OF SPIRIT AND STORY - CIAF 2021 FASHION PERFORMANCE
CIAF 2021 FASHION PERFORMANCE
6:00PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 12th Nov 2021
SWAMP DONKEY AND THE BRAZILIANS
SWAMP DONKEY AND THE BRAZILIANS
7:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Fri, 12th Nov 2021
OF SPIRIT AND STORY - CIAF 2021 FASHION PERFORMANCE
CIAF
8:30PM Tanks Arts Centre
Where's Your Permit CIAF Satellite Exhibition
Map to Tanks Arts Centre

 

Venue Information
Address: 46 Collins Ave,
Edge Hill, QLD, 4870
More info on Tanks Arts Centre
Join the discussion
Help us keep events listings legit
We all want to see useful and correct information, so if you spot anything that looks incorrect or inappropriate, please let us know.