This event has now passed.
Check out other events below that are coming up for this artist and at this venue.

WOW FESTIVAL AND SPINIFEX GUM

Venue: CPAC Theatre

Artist: Spinifex Gum

7:30pm Friday 6th August 2021

Buy tickets now    Email this event to a friend

WOW FESTIVAL AND SPINIFEX GUM

Welcome to WOW Cairns, to be held on the 6th Aug ONLY( - cancelled Sat 7th) on the traditional lands of the Gimuy people.

Curated in partnership with local women in the community, WOW Cairns will celebrate the achievements of women and girls living in the city and surrounding areas, while recognising the problems of gender being a barrier to achieving lifes goals.

Kicking off the festival on Friday evening at CPAC, WOW Australia will present the first and only performance of the award-winning Spinifex Gum in the Marilya Choirs hometown.

NOTE: Saturday WOW cancelled due to Covid lockdown in SEQ.

SPINIFEX GUM
Musical snapshots of life in the Pilbara, north Western Australia, performed by the lush voices of Marliya from Gondwana Choirs, young Indigenous women singing in English and Yindjibarndi.

Joining the choir are Felix Riebl and Ollie McGill of The Cat Empire, who wrote and produced the music, and special guest Emma Donovan. Commissioned to write a song cycle for the choir, Riebl spent several years visiting the Pilbara to build relationships and gather stories. He and Ollie McGill went on to write album Spinifex Gum about the regions local tales and characters, true stories of racism and injustice, and the legacies of colonisation with music production thats staunchly modern, built from found sound samples of the Pilbara rustling leaves, bouncing basketballs and chugging trains.

Wow Spinifex Gum

Honest, political, with tales of disparity and injustice that hit home, Spinifex Gum is the stunning musical celebration our country has been waiting for, and their voices must be heard. BMA Mag

The sweetness of the singing, the power of the words and the movement make this a magical experience. The Adelaide Advertiser

Presented by WOW (Women of the World) Australia.



Current Government Covid-safe restrictions allow 100% seated capacity. You must practise social distancing on arrival to the venue and remain in your allocated seat throughout the performance.

Generally there is no right to a refund or exchange except as required by law, or as provided in the Live Performance Australia Ticketing Code of Practice. Please refer to Ticketlink Terms and Conditions on this website.

Other upcoming events for this venue 'CPAC Theatre'
Fri, 17th Sep 2021
HAMLET: PRINCE OF SKIDMARK
Kidault superstars The Listies
11:00AM CPAC Theatre
Thu, 30th Sep 2021
KATE MILLER-HEIDKE | CHILD IN REVERSE TOUR
KATE MILLER-HEIDKE | CHILD IN REVERSE TOUR
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Sat, 2nd Oct 2021
MENOPAUSE THE MUSICAL®
MENOPAUSE THE MUSICAL®
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Sun, 3rd Oct 2021
MENOPAUSE THE MUSICAL®
MENOPAUSE THE MUSICAL®
2:00PM CPAC Theatre
Mon, 11th Oct 2021
RACE SHOWCASE
Redlynch Arts Courses of Excellence
6:30PM CPAC Theatre
Thu, 21st Oct 2021
RADICAL REELS TOUR 2021
RADICAL REELS TOUR 2021
7:00PM CPAC Theatre
Fri, 29th Oct 2021
COSENTINO DECEPTION
COSENTINO DECEPTION
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Mon, 1st Nov 2021
MORNING MELODIES - BLOOM SINGS STEVIE NICKS, CAROLE KING & LINDA RONSTADT SONGBOOK
MORNING MELODIES
11:00AM CPAC Theatre
Sun, 14th Nov 2021
DANCE FORCE GRAD TOUR 2021
DANCE FORCE GRAD TOUR 2021
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Sun, 5th Dec 2021
HANDEL'S MESSIAH - A CHRISTMAS CELEBRATION
HANDEL'S MESSIAH - A CHRISTMAS CELEBRATION
2:00PM CPAC Theatre
Mon, 6th Dec 2021
MORNING MELODIES - DARREN COGGAN'S HOME FOR CHRISTMAS
DARREN COGGAN'S HOME FOR CHRISTMAS
11:00AM CPAC Theatre
Fri, 17th Dec 2021
A SALUTE TO ROY ORBISON
A SALUTE TO ROY ORBISON
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Sat, 19th Mar 2022
BJORN AGAIN – MAMMA MIA! WE ARE BACK AGAIN
BJORN AGAIN
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Sun, 10th Apr 2022
IAN MOSS & TROY CASSAR-DALEY TOGETHER ALONE 2022
IAN MOSS & TROY CASSAR-DALEY TOGETHER ALONE 2022
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Tue, 3rd May 2022
CELTIC ILLUSION REIMAGINED
CELTIC ILLUSION REIMAGINED
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Thu, 9th Jun 2022
WORLD OF MUSICALS
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Fri, 10th Jun 2022
WORLD OF MUSICALS
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Fri, 10th Jun 2022
WORLD OF MUSICALS
7:30PM CPAC Theatre
Other upcoming events available at TicketLINK
Fri, 17th Sep 2021
MYTH, PROPAGANDA AND DISASTER IN NAZI GERMANY AND CONTEMPORARY AMERICA
8:00PM
Sat, 18th Sep 2021
TROPICAL STEAMPUNK 2021 - THE GALA COSTUME PARTY OF THE YEAR
6:30PM
Sat, 18th Sep 2021
GEORGIAXBYRNE, TESSA DEVINE AND VIVIEN AISI
7:00PM
Sun, 19th Sep 2021
NORTHERN LIGHTS
3:00PM
Thu, 23rd Sep 2021
LISA MITCHELL
7:30PM
Fri, 24th Sep 2021
PETER JAMES: FAREWELL SHOW
8:00PM
Sat, 25th Sep 2021
JEFF LANG "SOME MEMORIES NEVER DIE" BOOK TOUR - AN EVENING OF WORDS AND MUSIC
7:30PM
Fri, 1st Oct 2021
THE IRONING MAIDENS
6:30PM
Fri, 8th Oct 2021
SEAFOOD FEAST - CAIRNS FOOD & WINE FESTIVAL
6:30PM
Fri, 8th Oct 2021
MIKE RIVETT
7:30PM
Sat, 9th Oct 2021
CAIRNS FOOD & WINE FESTIVAL
3:00PM
Sat, 9th Oct 2021
EDDIE SKIBA ALBUM LAUNCH
7:30PM
Fri, 15th Oct 2021
MAU POWER
7:30PM
Fri, 22nd Oct 2021
HAMLET AND THE CLIMATE EMERGENCY
7:00PM
Fri, 22nd Oct 2021
GRETA STANLEY SINGLE LAUNCH
7:30PM
Sat, 23rd Oct 2021
HAMLET AND THE CLIMATE EMERGENCY
7:00PM
Sun, 24th Oct 2021
HOCKEY DAD
7:00PM
Wed, 27th Oct 2021
ANIMAL FARM BY GEORGE ORWELL
11:00AM
Wed, 27th Oct 2021
ANIMAL FARM BY GEORGE ORWELL
7:00PM
Fri, 29th Oct 2021
LADY VALIANT AND THE JOKER POKERS
7:30PM
Sat, 6th Nov 2021
DAVID STRASSMAN – THE CHOCOLATE DIET
7:00PM
Sun, 7th Nov 2021
DAVID STRASSMAN – THE CHOCOLATE DIET
7:00PM
Wed, 10th Nov 2021
CIAF 2021 SYMPOSIUM
10:00AM
Thu, 11th Nov 2021
OF SPIRIT AND STORY - CIAF 2021 FASHION PERFORMANCE
2:00PM
Thu, 11th Nov 2021
CIAF 2021 OPENING NIGHT PARTY
7:00PM
Fri, 12th Nov 2021
CIAF 2021 - QUEENSLAND THEATRE’S OTHELLO
2:00PM
Fri, 12th Nov 2021
OF SPIRIT AND STORY - CIAF 2021 FASHION PERFORMANCE
6:00PM
Fri, 12th Nov 2021
CIAF 2021 – QUEENSLAND THEATRE’S OTHELLO
7:30PM
Fri, 12th Nov 2021
SWAMP DONKEY AND THE BRAZILIANS
7:30PM
Fri, 12th Nov 2021
OF SPIRIT AND STORY - CIAF 2021 FASHION PERFORMANCE
8:30PM
Sat, 13th Nov 2021
CIAF 2021 - QUEENSLAND THEATRE’S OTHELLO
2:00PM
Sat, 13th Nov 2021
CIAF 2021 – QUEENSLAND THEATRE’S OTHELLO
7:30PM
Sat, 21st May 2022
BEHIND THE BARRICADES WITH KASEY CHAMBERS & BUSBY MAROU
6:30PM
   
WOW FESTIVAL AND SPINIFEX GUM
Map to CPAC Theatre

 

Venue Information
Address: Sheridian & Florence Streets, QLD, 4870
More info on CPAC Theatre
View Promoters Profile
Ticketlink
Buy tickets online
Buy tickets now
Buy tickets online
Buy tickets now
Join the discussion
Help us keep events listings legit
We all want to see useful and correct information, so if you spot anything that looks incorrect or inappropriate, please let us know.