Zwiebelfest/Onion festival (Yes it\'s a thing)

Venue: German Club Cairns

5:00pm Friday 12th August 2022

  View Livestream

Zwiebelfest/Onion festival (Yes it\'s a thing)

Germans know how to throw a party. Fun festivals with oom-pah bands, beer, wine, sausages plus all sorts of tasty edibles -- and plenty of Gemütlichkeit.

Griesheim has its Zwiebelmarkt, literally onion market, held annually at the end of September. During the 16th and 17th centuries the tiny burg adjacent to Darmstadt produced wine, but after the 30 years war, produce, namely onions, replaced the grapes. Of course, the onion stars in this food fest with Zwiebelkuchen (onion tart) the favourite, usually consumed with a glass of Federweisser, a type of new wine. The name translates as “feather white” referring to the milky appearance of the beverage due to suspended yeast; it is not a finished wine, but fermented freshly pressed grape juice.

Other upcoming events for this venue 'German Club Cairns'
Fri, 19th Aug 2022
Eine kleine Nachmusik
5:00PM German Club Cairns
Fri, 26th Aug 2022
Dachshund Abend
5:00PM German Club Cairns
Fri, 2nd Sep 2022
Almabtrieb
5:00PM German Club Cairns
Fri, 9th Sep 2022
Elvis night
5:00PM German Club Cairns
Fri, 16th Sep 2022
Sounds of Schnitzel Sing-along
5:00PM German Club Cairns
Fri, 23rd Sep 2022
A night on the North Sea
5:00PM German Club Cairns
Fri, 30th Sep 2022
Pre-Oktfest Party
5:00PM German Club Cairns
Sat, 8th Oct 2022
Oktoberfest I: We\'re back!
4:00PM German Club Cairns
Sat, 15th Oct 2022
Oktoberfest II: Getting serious
4:00PM German Club Cairns
Sat, 22nd Oct 2022
Oktoberfest III: The final countdown
4:00PM German Club Cairns
Zwiebelfest/Onion festival (Yes it\'s a thing)
Map to German Club Cairns:

 

Venue Information
Address: 57 Winkworth Street,
Cairns, QLD, 4870
More info on German Club Cairns
Help us keep events listings legit
We all want to see useful and correct information, so if you spot anything that looks incorrect or inappropriate, please let us know.